Rainy Day Blues

It is a miserable day here in South Louisiana. It started raining over an hour ago (not that I really know exactly when it started since I was taking my lunch hour power nap) and doesn’t look as though it intends to stop any time soon. Normally I love rainy days because it usually means it’ll be a little cooler while the sun is hidden, but on the other hand rainy days make me oh so sleepy.

It’s my own fault, of course. For about three years now I’ve been sleeping with a white noise machine that plays the sound of rain falling. It’s so soothing and it really does help me sleep better at night. Except now, like Pavlov’s dog, when I hear the rain beating against the roof, my eyes get heavy and I want to start snoring. I should clarify though, that when a hurricane is about to make landfall in my area and it’s raining, I don’t sleep a wink. There’s nothing comforting to me about knowing a catastrophic natural event is taking place. A lady I used to work with said she sleeps better during a hurricane. I just can’t do that.

What is it about the sound of rain that’s so relaxing? Is it the rhythm of the water hitting the shingles on the roof? The way the air turns cooler? Whatever it is, it always makes me want to curl up under a thick cover and hibernate. Gotta love the rain, except when  you’re at your desk and unable to sleep.

In other news, I’ve been writing steadily and managed to knock out 4,000 words on the current WIP. I think it’ll be complete by either Wednesday or Thursday. Yes! I brought 3 packs of different colored post-its to the office just in case I had time to try plotting out my next WIP.

I’ve joined NaNoWrMo this year and I have an idea in mind, two characters (though one won’t tell me her name), and a month to write out plot ideas. I’ve attempted the NaNoWriMo once before with dismal results. Being a pantster during a writing competition isn’t cool, so I’m going to try writing with a storyboard for the first time. I hope it works!

So is anyone else giving NaNoWriMo a go? What’s been your experience with the contest? Have you finished the goal?

4 Comments

Filed under contest, Writing

4 responses to “Rainy Day Blues

  1. Yep, I’m gonna try NaNo this year. Probably won’t win, as I have only a vague concept and a few characters, some w/o names.
    I am hving a terrible time w my current WIP so I am looking forward to a break from it

  2. I haven’t tried this contest before. I am thinking a out it. I have just finished the draft of a WIP and with the world build am considering a story with a second set of characters from that world. I am just in the plot thinking about it stage. A good time to try NaNo.

    • That’s exactly what I’m doing. I don’t know that I’ll manage to ‘win’, but if it helps me get a good start on the WIP bouncing around my mind, all the better, I think. 🙂

  3. Congratulations on getting so close to finishing! I love coming to the close of an old story, because that means I can work on something new and fresh. As much as I love Uninvoked, after two drafts I am more than ready to start a new novel…and this one is a long way to go from completion on my website!

    Go ahead and add me as a writing buddy on NaNo. I’m under “Uninvoked” as well.

Leave a Reply

