Edits and Writer’s Block

Before I get to the meat of today’s post, I’m over at two blogs with a giveaway today. To win a copy of Immortal Love, head on over to Emma Shortt’s blog. To win a copy of Immortal Love and a $10 Amazon gift card, head on over to Lila Shaw’s blog.

Now onto the post. I worked on edits for my upcoming June release, You Bet Your Banshee. Obviously it’s about a banshee and it’s one of the first stories I’ve ever written in first person. Okay, I had a lot of fun with this book. There’s a different tone to the story when it’s told from the main character’s inner mind that I found amusing.

I was scared to death that I’d be asked to change the POV completely to third. I would have done it, but it would have ruined the flow, I think. Luckily, that wasn’t a problem. No, the only major thing they wanted me to do was add another love scene.

Now if you’ve read my books, you’re probably aware that I generally pack my stories with lots of love scenes. At least it’s a lot to my mind. When I saw that listed as a serious matter to take into consideration, I was a bit flabbergasted, but hey…I could totally do that.

On Saturday, I pulled out the laptop, made myself comfortable…and stewed. Seriously, y’all, I stared at that screen like it was a monster because I couldn’t see where to put the scene. I puttered around all day, trying to place it here, or trying to write it there and nothing worked. Finally, at about seven-thirty that night, I sat down and actually reread the manuscript. That’s when I realized this story was pretty damn good. It made me chuckle and I was filled with a sense of stunned amazement that I wrote it. I finally found the perfect spot for the love scene and pounded it out (pun intended bwahaha) in less than an hour.

My edits were finished and sent to the editor for review. Yay!

Yesterday I was ready to work on a project for Ellora’s Cave. I have to write this story. It’s been bugging me since I finished Primal Song, yet everything I wrote, I hated. The heroine didn’t have enough sass. The opening scene was crappy. I must have gone through about four different versions of the opening scene before I realized I was beating a dead horse.

The story wasn’t ready to come to me. This epiphany happened at around nine-thirty last night. I went to bed thinking about the characters and how the story needed to open. And woke up slightly more positive about it.

As much as I hate to do it, Primal Design needs a prologue. Yes, you heard me, a prologue! Hopefully I’ll get to start writing it today. I pray the writer’s block was just a temporary side-effect of the edits from the day before. I have stories to write and I don’t have time for stupid writer’s blocks.

What do you do when you have writer’s block?

3 Comments

Filed under Writing

3 responses to “Edits and Writer’s Block

  1. Love that you had to add a sex scene! This one is gonna be super-spicy!!

    Writer’s Block- I haven’t gotten that- *knocks on wood* but when I have no motivation, I watch a movie- to listen to dialogue, check out the scenery, etc. This usually gets the juices flowing for me.

    • LOL, it’ll be different, that’s for sure.

      I had a problem once in Physics and I couldn’t figure out how to solve it. I went to bed with that problem on my mind and while sleeping, dreamed that my instructor showed me how to solve it. I thought the same method might work for my writer’s block and I think it might have helped. A little at least

Leave a Reply

