Post Easter Shock

I love nothing better than getting together with family, but is it horrible for me to say when everyone left I wanted to throw my arms in the air and scream “Thank God!”? It makes me feel a little disloyal, but oy vey, was I glad to have the house to myself again.

It was a great weekend, don’t get me wrong. Sure, I spent my entire Friday cleaning house, but I really didn’t mind. Especially since the plans I had to write on Saturday were foiled because of a screaming child in Starbucks and my muse deciding she doesn’t work weekends. Yeah, it was bad. I wrote 300 words and hated every single one of them. Naturally by the time I packed everything up, did some grocery shopping, and went home, my muse tossed me a bone for my story. She’s a contrary witch.

But, I did get to see my youngest nephew eat baby food for the first time. I’ll admit I probably spent more time laughing at that poor child than I did anything else this weekend. First it was the baby food which he took like a duck to water. The minute his mama produced the spoon, his mouth was open and ready for loading. Then he tried to take the spoon from her because apparently she wasn’t feeding him fast enough.

But the best part came on Easter Sunday. We were sitting outside, enjoying the somewhat mild day, the smell of food on the grill, and talking. My Korean aunt was holding Bennett who was wearing the most darling little outfit complete with a pair of sunglasses (like me, he doesn’t like the sun in his eyes). Because of those sunglasses, it took us a while to figure out he was falling asleep. Sitting up. Only when he started doing the buchon did we realize the poor baby was sleeping. We were hysterical. I think I might’ve even pulled a muscle in my stomach from laughing at the child.

We ate, we laughed, we talked, we drank a little, and we had a good day. But when the last car pulled away and the house was clean once again, I ran to my room to change into my lounge clothes and did a swan dive on the sofa to read. Ahhh…peace and quiet.

I love them all, but I’m glad there are no more holidays for a few months. It’ll take me a while to work up the need to surround myself with so many people again.

Did y’all have a good Easter?

8 Comments

Filed under Family

8 responses to “Post Easter Shock

  1. Sounds like a grand time. AND I’m with you- resting up between holidays is always a must!

  2. Hello Danica, I came across your blog while browsing for Cajun French words. I didn’t know what kind of blog you had when I saw Fantasy Man. LOL! But I see you’re a writer and see your subject. Have you ever heard of Madame Grand Doigts? I’ve been looking for a long time for her history and origins. She’s an old disfigured woman who comes on New Year’s Day. She brings presents but some stories have her strangling kids (If they were bad). She has long bony fingers. I thought you might be in the know. Anyway, take care. Drop by my blog if you want. I’m learning Cajun French words and expressions. We pock (pacques) eggs up here in Evangeline Parish for Easter. –Mike

    • Hi Mike, I’m glad you stopped by! No, I’ve never heard of Madame Grand Doigts, but I’m sure my parents wished they would’ve known about her. I have no doubt I’d have been threatened with her many times ;)

  3. Oh well, it was worth a shot. Some areas have the Little January Man instead of her. Folklore stuff is fun to me. I’ll add you to my Louisiana Blogger list because you’re from here (LA), talk about French words and write Louisiana based stories. I googled you and read articles and interviews. I was once upon a time an English major (USL and NSU) but I deliver beer all day in Ville Platte now. Add that to the list of occupations for English majors! LOL. That’s a cool thing you’re doing. Take care. –Mike

Leave a Reply

