Remaking Thin Lizzy

We’re continuing with the summer remake series. Today’s remake took me a long time to decide upon. On one hand, I was tempted to go with another Queen remake (a song remade by the same band remaking today’s song), but decided I had to go with Thin Lizzy.

Thin Lizzy was one of those bands that was both hard and melodic. Phil Lynott, the singer, has this velvet smooth voice I adore. Today’s song is actually a remake of an old Irish folk song. It was remade by Metallica in 1998 following very closely to the original, but adding their signature heaviness.

I don’t know what it is about this song, if it’s the lyrics, or the catchy guitar riff, but this is one of those songs that I have to listen to every time I happen to catch it on the radio. The best part is, it doesn’t matter if it’s Thin Lizzy’s version or Metallica’s. Tell me what you think.

The original:

The remake:

4 Comments

Filed under What's Playing Wednesdays

4 responses to “Remaking Thin Lizzy

  1. KAK

    While I prefer the Pouges’ version, I gotta go with Metallica for today’s mash-up. It’s the verve…and Hetfield’s gravely voice.

  2. FINALLY! One I can pick #2 on. LOL!

Leave a Reply

