Zombiefied: Weekend Wrap-up

Last week I mentioned that I was helping move my godson to an apartment out-of-town so he could start college. Well, that happened, to my dismay. Oh, I know. It’s a good thing that he’s continuing his education and I’m all for it, but I want my baby home!

It might sound sad to a lot of people, but in this family, you don’t leave. No, we’re not the mafia, but we may as well be. My uncles were the first to go. In the late 80s, they moved to Baton Rouge. That was hard, but not too difficult because it’s only a 2 hour drive away. Everyone else stayed close to home. Sure, we may live on opposite ends of the parish, or in a different parish, but it would take no more than 30 minutes to visit.

My godson, however, has carried his butt to Ruston which is 6 hours away. It’s for his own good, I know, but…it’s so far away! I couldn’t even imagine what it would be like if he’d gone to school out-of-state. I’d probably have to pick up and move with him!

But I’m not posting about my sniffly, depressive state today. No, I’m blogging about the fact that I feel like a zombie. Waking up at 4 on a Saturday morning is not my cup of tea. I do it during the work week, but Saturdays are sacred to me. Those are the days I’ll sleep late. You know, until maybe 6 in the morning. But this Saturday, I was on the road by 5:45 and that was just the start.

I’ve mentioned before how much I love to drive, and I do. I like the control of guiding my car, listening to my music, and taking in the sights. The thing about this trip though, is that there’s nothing to see. There are so many speed zones, my car was confused. We passed through towns that were called villages, which kind of blew my mind, and I saw more log houses than I ever knew existed in Louisiana.

Did I mention Ruston is in north Louisiana? It may as well be a whole different country! We took the kids grocery shopping and one of the most important items on our list was filé (fee-lay) so they could make a gumbo. Filé is a spice, ground sassafras leaves. We couldn’t find it in the spice aisle. We were staring at that small section of shelf in disbelief. No filé?? Inconceivable!

We did find it eventually. Around the crab boil and as far as I know, filé isn’t used in any seafood boils. But…what can you do? They’re not Cajuns.

Anyway, 6 hours on Saturday then immediately unloading two trucks, a trailer, two cars, and my little SUV meant we didn’t rest much. Oh sure, I had a nice soak in the hot tub at the hotel, but getting back on the road on Sunday morning (after 2-1/2 hours grocery shopping) only to drive for 6 hours to get home means I’m kind of in a daze today. I didn’t want to get in my car again, but had to. *sniff*

So that was my weekend. I hope the rest of the week turns out calm and relaxed so I can mentally prepare myself to travel for work next week. Did I mention I like to drive? Usually?

How was your weekend?

6 Comments

Filed under Family

6 responses to “Zombiefied: Weekend Wrap-up

  1. I had my soon to be 11-year old nephew here. So we tried rock climbing, went to see Captain America, hung out at the lake…it was great fun.
    I am sooo tired today. LOL!

    I love weekends!!

  2. SOunds like a busy weekend and a lot of work!
    I recovered from jet lag and then drove to Tallahassee for court today. fun times

  3. Never heard of that spice. I’m sure I’d never find it here in the PacNW. Sounds like you had an exhuasting but good weekend. Helping someone find their place in the world is a very rewarding experience.

    • Filé is the main ingredient in a gumbo. It’s the one thing you have to use to make it, so down here, it’s vital, LOL. It did feel good to help him take the next step in his life, even though I’ll miss him horribly.

Leave a Reply

