Real or Fake

Well, this is the last of the movies I’ll be discussing for Horror Movie Weeks 1 and 2. I hope you’ve all enjoyed remembering old movies and have discovered new movies you may want to scare yourself with.

Today’s movie came out in 2009. I saw it at the theater at the insistence of my godson. Remember I said he’s the horror movie hound? He’s the same kid who made me watch The Exorcism of Emily Rose. I should have known this movie was going to be a real frightfest. What I didn’t expect, was that I’d spend more than half the movie staring at the ceiling tiles of the theater because I didn’t want to throw up.

Yup, you got it. Paranormal Activity scared the bejesus out of me. At first,  you go into the movie thinking Yeah okay, it’s so not real *insert eye roll*. It’s a movie, of course it isn’t real! But when you’re in the theater…and it’s dark…and the movie starts with no opening credits other than the time, date, and location you start to doubt yourself. Hm. Okay, so that’s a new way to start a movie. I gave a mental shrug and prepared to be scared.

The movie centers around two characters. There are only five characters who appear in the entire film, three come and go and help add to the suspense of what’s happening, but you don’t care about that. You want to know what the hell is going on! What’s happening is strange…things. Noises in the night, things like that. The hero is a skeptic. He doesn’t believe in ghosts or demons or whatever, so he records everything with a home video camera.

I can’t tell you what really happens when the camera was moving (cause he was walking around and the motion sickness…meh), but when the camera was stationary, that’s when the scary stuff happened. You see them in bed (not having fun…he turned the camera off for those times) and then you see the sheets being pulled off of Katie. Hello! I’d have left after that. I don’t care what the hell my boyfriend said. If I’m the one being targeted, I’m so not hanging around…things become increasingly worse. Katie gets up in the middle of the night, walks around the bed and stands over Micah’s sleeping form for HOURS. Okay? That was creepy. Beyond creepy. My godson and I looked at each other with a Holy. Crap. expression on our faces.

I’m not going to tell you everything, but I will say that after a while you forget it’s a movie. You forget that this isn’t real because it…feels real. It feels like you’re peeking into someone’s life and you want to shout at them not to stay there. Of course Micah, being a man, won’t believe there’s actually anything wrong until the very end when things are so bad even he can’t ignore them any longer. Stupid man. In the end he learned his lesson…and Katie disappears.

I distinctly remember someone several rows behind me saying, We’re all going to Hell for watching this. Then there was the big, manly man sitting two rows ahead of us who jumped with a little…dare I say scream? Yeah, it was scary. I haven’t watched it again and I’m not sure I will despite my godson’s urgings.

A couple of months ago, my godson came over with his girlfriend to propose a Paranormal Activity movie night. His girlfriend is adamant that she can’t watch it because she’ll have nightmares. Smart girl. However, a little while later, my nephew (the boy I love like a son) leaned forward and said:

Nanny…Katie’s back!

Oh no. Oh HELL no…I’m not going to see it! It comes out next Friday…and I’m tempted. No, I won’t see it. It won’t be as good as the first one, I know it won’t. *looks at the calendar* It might be scary too…sometimes sequels are good. No, I won’t go see it. I don’t want to get motion sickness again. *think* But where did Katie go? What happened to her? Who’s going to suffer for their stupidity this time? Gah!

Okay, so I might see it. I’ll just take some Dramamine before I go…Oh, man, I feel sick to my stomach already.

Have you seen Paranormal Activity? Will you ever see it? I suggest you watch it with all the lights on. Seriously. What’s the scariest movie you’ve ever seen?

8 Comments

Filed under paranormal

8 responses to “Real or Fake

  1. I saw it and I got none of that from it. I hated it and thought it was tedious and boring. Sorry but I have to agree to disagree on this one, my friend. AND no, I won’t waste by bucks on the sequel. Give me something else to skeer me! LOL!

  2. I watched it with a friend in her living room while we sewed. And I was SO glad I had the distraction of the sewing to give me an excuse to look away. Even though I was distracted, the lights were all on, and I had a friend to yammer at, I was freaked out. So. Awesome.

    You can tell what part of the movie I was watching by looking at the stitches I sewed. Beginning of the movie? Straight, happy, consistent stitches. End of movie? A total mess.

  3. I’ve never seen Paranormal Activity. My horror movies have dwindled down considerably.

    But the scariest movie I’ve ever seen was Amityville Horror. That was the first movie I couldn’t convince myself “was just a movie” when it was done. It said it was based on a true story and I believed it! That house still gives me the creeps, too. It’s like it’s looking at you!

Leave a Reply

